Tuesday, April 02, 2013
(Last modified: 2013-04-02 14:10:49)
Author: Seth Butler
Source: The Newport Plain Talk

In a vote comprised of media members of outlets in District 2-AAA, Cocke County High School junior guard Allison Ball was named MVP of the league.

Ball, who was edged by Seymour’s Kasey Norman in the District 2-AAA team awarded by the league coaches, took the media ballot after her performance in the tournament championship victory over Morristown West, which also gave her MVP honors in the event. The victory gave the Lady Red their first District 2-AAA tournament title since the 1988 season.

Also named to the girls first team was Lady Red sophomore Mika Wester. Wester was one of Cocke County’s leading scorers in 2012-13, averaging over 10 points per game.

Other first team girls players were Seymour’s Norman, Jefferson County’s Autumn Dodson and Cherokee’s Pattie Ruth Taylor.

First team boys players included MVP Devin Schmidt of Sevier County High School. Despite being dismissed from the team during the region tournament due to an off-the-floor incident leading to his arrest, Schmidt averaged over 25 points per game for the Bears and also had stellar postseason performances in leading his team to a regional semifinal appearance. Sevier County, without Schmidt, qualified for a TSSAA Class AAA sectional game.

Other first team players include, Cherokee’s Ty Ryans, South Doyle’s Jacob Elliott, Jefferson County’s Chase McGhee and Seymour’s DJ Griffin.

Second team boys members include Cherokee’s Tanner Trent, Sevier County’s Jacob Whaley, Jefferson County’s Brice Cusick, Dylan Dockery from Cocke County and Morristown East’s Matt Thompson.

Second team girls members include, Christina Zimmerman and Jecca Simerly of district runner up Morristown West, Jordan Hayes and Lauren Blaylock from Morristown East - which finished third in the postseason tournament, and Brittany Tarr of Sevier County.

Third team boys members include: Jefferson County’s Kyle Briggs and John Bryant, Jacob White of Cocke County, Jocquez Bruce of South Doyle and Logan McCarter of Sevier County.

Third team girls members include: Taylor Chapman and Kelsey Wypych of Sevier County, Abbe Craine and Jenna Potts from Morristown West, and Sharina Cofield from Cocke County.

District 2-AAA girls Coach of the Year was Jeremy Byrd of Cocke County, while Jefferson County’s Chris Poore won boys Coach of the Year award honors.

Copyright © 2014, The Newport Plain Talk